Café Vlissinghe is the oldest cafe in Bruges, and the first written testimony about it dates back to 1515! The Cafe consists of two houses built in the late 15th century. Due to renovations and rebuilding, including replacement of wooden facade with the stone one, the current structure is largely from the 17th century.
The modern history of Vlissinghe begins in 1855 when it was bought by Jacques De Meulemeester, who owned the brewery De Arend (later Aigle Belgica). His son Leon managed the brewery from 1869 and Vlissinghe was reconstructed with neo-baroque furniture, old arts and paintings created an “old Flemish” interior. This unique decoration attracts art lovers who visit the C afé to admire elements of the past centuries.
At the Café, used to be the “headquarters” of various associations who meet regularly, like the Art Genegen, an association founded in 1894 by teachers and students of the Academy of Fine Arts Leon De Meulemeester. This association created a separate room in a side wing, decorated to their own taste. This meeting room with the elaborate decoration still exists!